Malampa Provincial Government Council, Lakatoro, Malekula
Mon - Fri 8:00 - 17:00

The Council

Vanuatu is a unitary state with three levels of government – the Central Government, Provincial Council and Area Councils. Provincial councils are established by virtue of the provisions of the Local Government Act, the Decentralization Act and Physical Planning Act. The Vanuatu Constitution also provides for a decentralized system of government. 

The Malampa Provincial Government Council (MPGC) has continued to emphasize the importance and centrality of traditional governance (custom) to a happy and harmonious co-existence in the province. The illustration below shows the different levels and relationships between them at provincial level.

The MPGC consists of Malekula, Ambrym and Paama Island and the Headquarter is located at Lakatoro, Malekula.